Calgary (Rural Roots Canada) –  19 farm families who exemplify a commitment to agriculture and their communities are being recognized by BMO and the Calgary Stampede.

The 2020 BMO Farm Family Awards, which were to be awarded during last year’s Stampede, had to be moved when the Greatest Outdoor Show on Earth was cancelled due to the pandemic.

READ MORE: Southern Alberta farm families honoured at Calgary Stampede

While the event was postponed, the Stampede says in a statement, the passion for farming and dedication to their communities and family farms remains significant, particularly during these difficult times.

“The BMO Farm Family Awards recognize the positive contributions farmers across Alberta have made to their communities and the vital role they play in the health and sustainability of the economy,” said Lynda Taylor, Senior Vice President and Head, Agriculture and Agribusiness, BMO Bank of Montreal.

The municipal districts nominate the 19 families.

RELATED: 125-year-old Alberta farm honoured with BMO Farm Family Award

Alberta Minister of Agriculture Devin Dreeshen says family farms are the bedrock of the province’s agriculture.

“Their passion and dedication to preserving their land and way of life is a testament to their grit and innovation,” said Dreeshen.

“Farming isn’t easy – it constantly evolves. There are tough moments that can strain families and test their resolve, but these farm families represent the best of the strongest, longest-lasting industry in Alberta, and they’re just getting started,”

RELATED: Past winner of the BMO Farm Family Awards talks family and Ag lifestyle

Each farm family will receive a personalized gate sign.

Here is a list of the winning families:

Area Farm Family
Cardston County Nelson Family
County of Forty Mile No. 8 Noga Family
County of Newell Johnson Family
County of Warner Taylor Family
Cypress County Dick Family
Foothills County Nauta Family
Kneehill County Benedict Family
Lethbridge County Slomp Family
MD of Pincher Creek Clark Family
MD of Ranchland No. 66 Wilson Family
MD of Taber Torsius Family
MD of Willow Creek #26 Poelman Family
Mountain View County Miller Family
Rocky View County Schissel Family
Special Areas No. 2 Kingcott Family
Special Areas No. 3 Lyon Family
Starland County Chambers Family
Vulcan County Roe Family
Wheatland County Koester Family

To learn more about the families, click here. 

1 Comment

1 Comment

Comments are closed.